Go to content Go to the menu Go to the search

Project Content - Arctic Climate Change,
Economy and Society




Also in the section

Jean-Claude Gascard

Senior scientist for the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique CNRS since 1992.

Docteur d’Etat of University Pierre et Marie Curie UPMC since 1977, speciality Océanographie Physique Dynamique.

Jean-Claude Gascard started working in polar oceanography in 1976 on the Labrador Sea in cooperation ...

» More details

Key figures

Key facts

To see

Download :

Flyer / Newsletters #1-4

Nouvelle fenêtre  


Information on:

 The current status of Arctic sea ice

Advisory Board

Ms. Adele Airoldi

Ms. Adele Airoldi has a master in Polar Studies from Scott Polar Research Institute. She worked at the secretariat of the European Union Council of Ministers in Brussels from 1981 until 2004, mainly on environmental policy issues. During that period she assisted Denmark and Greenland foreign affairs in preparing the 2002 Ilulissat Conference. Since 2004, she has been active in the field of Arctic affairs. In 2008 she wrote a report “The European Union and the Arctic- Policies and Actions” for the Nordic Council of Ministers, which was updated in 2010.



Professor Hajo Eicken

Professor Hajo Eicken is at the Department of Geology & Geophysics, University of Alaska Fairbanks, in the United States. His research interests include the growth, evolution and properties of sea ice. He is particularly interested in determining how microscopic and macroscopic properties affect sea-ice processes and the climate system. Prof. Eicken’s group also investigates different uses of sea ice in indigenous communities, the private sector and the public at large to help decision makers adapt to a changing Arctic. Prof. Eicken chairs the Science Steering Committee for the Study of Environmental Arctic Change (SEARCH) project.


Honourable Hannu Halinen

Honourable Hannu Halinen is Ambassador for Arctic affairs at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland. Amb. Halinen also is a Senior Arctic Official for the Arctic Council and for the Nordic Council of Ministers as well as a Member of the Committee of Senior Officials for the Barents Euro-Arctic Council. Amb. Halinen has provided leadership in many diplomatic arenas, including as: Permanent Representative of Finland to the United Nations (UN) Food and Agriculture Organization; Representative of Finland to the UN Human Rights Commission; Ambassador of Finland in Hungary; and Ambassador of Finland in the Arab Republic of Egypt among other postings.


Honourable Inuuteq Holm Olsen

Honourable Inuuteq Holm Olsen has served as Deputy Minister for the Department of Foreign Affairs of the Government of Greenland since July 2006. Minister Holm Olsen began his career at the Department of Foreign Affairs in 1996 and was Private Secretary to the Premier from 1997 through 1999. He was posted at the Danish Foreign Ministry in Copenhagen and was at the Greenland Representation in Brussels from 2000 through 2003. Minister Holm Olsen earned a BA in Political Science from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in 1994 and a MA in International Affairs from The George Washington University in 1996.


Professor Thomas Sterner

Professor Thomas Sterner is at the School of Business, Economics & Law, Gothenburg University, in Sweden. Prof. Sterner’s main research interests lie in environmental economics and the design of policy instruments with diverse applications to resolve energy, climate, resource and pollution issues. Prof. Sterner is active on numerous international advisory boards dealing with resource and economic issues, including as President of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists from 2008- 09. His many publications and books include “Policy Instruments for Environmental and Natural Resource Management” (2011), which is in its second edition, and “Fuel Taxes and the Poor: The Distributional Effects of Gasoline Taxation and Their Implications for Climate Policy”, which also was published in 2011.


Professor Oran R. Young

Professor Oran R. Young is at the Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, University of California Santa Barbara, in the United States. Prof. Young specializes in the analysis of environmental institutions with particular reference to international regimes. He chaired the Steering Committee of the Arctic Governance Project and has served as Vice-President of the International Arctic Science Committee, Chair of the Board of Governors for the University of the Arctic, and Co-chair of the Arctic Human Development Report. He is the author or co-author of more than 20 books, including “Institutional Dynamics: Emergent Patterns in International Environmental Governance” (2010) and “Science Diplomacy” (2011).